Northern Ireland Scrabble Championships 2019

The 2019 Northern Ireland Scrabble Championships took place on January 19th & 20th. This weekend saw 32 players gather in Belfast, with players coming from Ireland (north and south), England and Scotland to pit their wits on the board. Organised and directed by former AISA chairperson Stewart Holden, the event ran as smoothly as ever and was nailbiting right up to the end where any one of four players could have clinched the title.  In the end Wayne Kelly took the trophy.  Feargal Weatherhead beat last year’s champion Brett Smitheram to finish second and Brett was third.  All three placed players ended up on a whopping 11 wins out of 15. The B Ratings Prize went to Celine McCart and the C Ratings Prize went to Andrew Clark.  The weekend’s theme word was BREXIT (unsurprisingly!) and Wexford’s Mary Doyle got the prize here with LEAVER. The Belfast event has now been running for 12 years and Stewart already has the venue booked for 25 and 26 January 2020 See the full event coverage below (or open it in a new window) and you can see photos of the event here.